‘Drawn to the Valley’ Art Exhibition

1 Sep

Before I came to university, I spent a year at Plymouth College of Art and Design doing a Foundation Degree in Art, Design and Media.

I live in a small village in east Cornwall, called Calstock, an area of outstanding natural beauty, where the local artists have joined together to form the ‘Drawn to the Valley’ group. This group acts as a support network for the artists, but also to give to the local economy through the sales of their exhibitions and Open Studio days. The group is open to artists from all forms of media from ceramics to abstract art, but available to artists who work or live in the Tamar Valley.

One of the artists, Val Kirby, is a neighbour of mine, which is how I originally found out about this annual exhibition. I have enjoyed going back to memories from my foundation year, which was full of experimenting. I look through the exhibitions in various locations with my mom who I refresh my memory with and explain some of the printing processes to create the works of art. I find this challenging and fascinating because I tend to remember most of the details!

Here are a few artists work that I have been to see.

Leave a Reply

