Second Year Exhibition

17 May

Second year graphic students at UWIC, get the chance to display their up-to-date pieces of work. Various clients and designers are invited to the viewings, as well as the general public. The students all have the chance at three work placements at Brand Union, and one placement at UWIC with their marketing team. I was shortlisted for the UWIC placement. Five students were interviewed by Mark Lloyd, and I was fortunate enough to be among them. Unfortunately I didn’t manage to land myself with the work placement, but I am encouraged that my work was noticed and was of a high standard.

I displayed two pieces of work, one where I showed the unattainable figure of Barbie. I compared sections of regular girls’ bodies, with Barbie’s and achieved a thought provoking piece of design.

The other, I had British Heart Foundation as my client and wrote my own brief which was to encourage volunteer fundraisers. I used a simple advertising method to attract the public and highlight the fact the fundraising needn’t be so complicated.

Leave a Reply

